Welcome to ExamTopics
ExamTopics Logo
- Expert Verified, Online, Free.

Unlimited Access

Get Unlimited Contributor Access to the all ExamTopics Exams!
Take advantage of PDF Files for 1000+ Exams along with community discussions and pass IT Certification Exams Easily.

Exam SPHR topic 1 question 2 discussion

Actual exam question from HRCI's SPHR
Question #: 2
Topic #: 1
[All SPHR Questions]

According to Knowles, there are five key assumptions about how adults learn. One of the assumptions is the learner's need to know. Which of the following statements is best associated with the assumption of the learner's need to know?

• A. I'm ready to learn this because what I learn will help me function better in some way.
  • B. I understand why I need to learn this.
  • C. What I learn today will help me solve problems at my workplace tomorrow.
  • D. I've got lots of valuable experience that I want to draw upon to help me as I learn.
Show Suggested Answer Hide Answer
Suggested Answer: B 🗳️
Answer option B is correct.
The statement "I understand why I need to learn this" is an assumption that the learner understands the need to know the course material.
Answer option A is incorrect. The statement "I'm ready to learn this because what I learn will help me function better in some way" is an example of the assumption of the learner's readiness to learn.
Answer option C is incorrect. The statement "What I learn today will help me solve problems at my workplace tomorrow" is an example of the assumption of the learner's orientation to learning.
Answer option D is incorrect. The statement "I've got lots of valuable experience that I want to draw upon to help me as I learn" is an example of the assumption of the learner's experience.
Reference: Professional in Human Resources Certification Guide, Sybex, ISBN: 978-0-470-43096-5. Chapter 5: Human Resource Development. Official PHR and